Glossary

styriarte [lat.-ital.], n., summer music festival taking place in the Styrian capital

The history
The styriarte was founded in 1985 as a festival for classical music. Important composers were in the centre of the first Festival programmes, since 1992 the styriarte Festival set its programmes in thematic contexts, their stringent implementation has become a distinctive trademark of the festival.

The ulterior motive
The styriarte Festival was originally founded to forge closer ties between the pioneering conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt and his home town of Graz. His artistic endeavours have made Harnoncourt a world-renowned star in the world of music and his musical believes have become a measure for the artistic events held at the styriarte Festival. The Festival today encourages a rediscovery of long-lost variations of our musical heritage and mirrors today’s wealth of exciting approaches to Early Music and music between the Middle Ages and Romanticism.

The musicians
Apart from the Concentus Musicus Wien, an ensemble performing Early Music on period instruments founded by Nikolaus Harnoncourt, the extraordinarily dynamic Chamber Orchestra of Europe has become one the of the favourite ensembles of the styriarte Festival. Pioneering performers of Early Music, for instance Jordi Savall, have also long become regular guests of the styriarte Festival. As part of the styriarte 2014, the first time styriarte presents its own festival orchestra, under the artistic direction of Michael Hofstetter.

The venue
One of the distinctive features of the styriarte Festival are the gorgeous settings in which the concerts take place. The exceptionally well preserved historical city centre of the Styrian capital with its renowned historical sites and halls is a magnificent venue for the styriarte Festival.

Lexikon

styriarte [lat.-ital.], die, sommerliche Musikfestspiele der Steiermark

Die Geschichte
Die styriarte wurde 1985 als klassisches Musikfestival ins Leben gerufen. Standen in den ersten Jahren Komponistenpersönlichkeiten im Mittelpunkt der Programme, so stellt die styriarte seit 1992 ihr Programm in thematische Zusammenhänge, deren stringente Umsetzung zu einem unverwechselbaren Markenzeichen der Festspiele geworden ist.

Der Hintergedanke
Die styriarte sollte den bahnbrechenden Dirigenten Nikolaus Harnoncourt enger an seine Heimatstadt Graz binden. Harnoncourts künstlerische Erkenntnisse, die ihn zu einem Weltstar gemacht haben, wurden zum Maßstab für die Aufführungen der Festspiele. So ermöglicht die styriarte heute Begegnungen mit verlorengegangenen Sichtweisen unseres musikalischen Erbes, und sie spiegelt die heutige Vielfalt an spannenden Zugängen zur Welt der Klassik wider, in Musik zwischen Mittelalter und Gegenwart.

Die Musiker
Neben dem Concentus Musicus Wien, dem von Nikolaus Harnoncourt gegründeten Ensemble für alte Musik, hat sich das Chamber Orchestra of Europe als bevorzugter Klangkörper der styriarte erwiesen. Die führenden Interpreten der Alten-Musik-Szene – hervorzuheben: Jordi Savall – gehören heute ebenfalls zu den Stammgästen der steirischen Festspiele. Im Rahmen der styriarte 2014 stellt die styriarte erstmals ihr eigenes Festspiel-Orchester vor.

Das Umfeld
Eine unverwechselbare Note der styriarte liegt im reizvollen Ambiente, in dem die Konzerte stattfinden. Die außergewöhnlich gut erhaltene Altstadt der steirischen Landeshauptstadt Graz mit ihren weithin bekannten historischen Plätzen und Sälen bietet den Festspielen einen unvergesslichen Rahmen.