Johann Joseoh Fux_Warhol © Peter Schaberl
Johann Joseoh Fux

Who was Johann Joseph Fux?

Johann Joseph Fux
Composer of three Habsburg emperors

In the year of our Lord 1660, in the hamlet of Hirtenfeld, a few kilometres east of the provincial capital city of Graz, a son and heir was born to farmer Andreas Fux and baptised Johann Joseph. There is no official record of his birth. When, however, the same Johann Joseph died at the resplendent imperial court in far-off Vienna on 13th February 1741, the death certificate gave his age as 81 – a biblical age for the day, but quite normal for the Hirtenfelder Fuxes. At the end of his long life, Fux held one of the most illustrious positions in music that Europe had to offer, that of kapellmeister (musical director) at the imperial court.

A fairy-tale career spans these two extremes, from his beginnings amid the pastures of Hirtenfeld to where he ended up, in the palaces and court chapels of three Habsburg rulers. Much of that story will remain forever shrouded in mystery. Yet we cannot help but feel that even the farmer’s son must have had a musical calling. As Fux himself says in his legendary textbook on composition “Gradus ad Parnassum”: “At an age when I was not yet in full possession of my faculty of reason, I was smitten by a strange urge: all my endeavours were devoted to music, and even now I still crave to learn; I am driven, as though without my willing it; day and night my ears seem to echo with sweet sounds, which dispels all doubt from my mind that I might have missed my calling.”

This must be what it takes if one wishes to become a composer. But if, as a farmer’s son, one wishes to seek one’s fortune at one of Europe’s most prominent courts, it must take quite a bit more than that. As a boy, Fux must have been lucky enough to come upon a good teacher and a farsighted priest in the parish of St. Marein. And he must have been quite exceptionally talented. In 1680 we find him studying at the Jesuit University in Graz, with free board at the Ferdinandeum in exchange for services to church music at the court chapel, now Graz Cathedral. In 1683 Fux was ready to move on. He went to study Law at the Jesuit University in Ingolstadt and at the same time took up the position of organist in St. Moritz – a classic case of a working student, as we would say today. At some point around 1688 he left Ingolstadt and we lose sight of him for several years.

Did he study in Italy, land of music? Was he in France? His mastery of the musical styles of these countries suggests he may well have been there. But perhaps he got to know all he needed to know in Vienna, where the Italians had long been leading the way. In any case, when Fux’s name next crops up in records, he is a man who has made it to the top. On 5th June 1696, at the age of 36, he married Clara Juliana Schnitzenbaum, daughter of a high-up court official in Vienna. In the normal run of things, this would have been an absolutely impossible match for a farmer’s son from Hirtenfeld. At this point he was organist at the Schottenstift in Vienna, and therefore already very close to his Emperors.

And it was around this time that he was discovered by Leopold I. Leopold I – like his sons Joseph and Karl – was a ruler who was obsessed with music and was himself a gifted composer. The story goes that he had to resort to a ruse to get Fux into the royal household. The Italians at court who dominated in matters of music had no intention of having a Styrian as a competitor, so when the Emperor presented them with a mass by Fux, he claimed it was the latest thing from Italy. Full of praise for the new work, they fell into the trap: Fux was appointed Leopold’s court composer in April 1698 and in 1705 he also became kapellmeister for the miraculous icon Maria Pötsch in St Stephen’s Cathedral in Vienna. The same year, Fux began a new career: the young, dynamic Joseph I succeeded his father on the imperial throne and commissioned Fux, among others, to write a number of Italian operas. The first of these, which is extant, is “Julo Ascanio, Re d’Alba“. When Joseph quite unexpectedly died in 1711, his brother Karl succeeded to the throne. He too greatly admired Fux’s operas but his oratorios and sacred music even more. Most of all, he appreciated Fux as a kindhearted and prudent organiser. It was under Karl that the Styrian Fux first became deputy kapellmeister and then, in 1715, court kapellmeister. An 18th-century musician could rise no higher.

Now 55 years old, Fux could put all the skills he had acquired in the course of his life to good use. The fact that he had studied Law helped him to direct a great Viennese institution competently: the Imperial Court Music comprised 140 persons, and their interests sometimes had to be defended against intrigues at court. Fux’s cultivated Latin and his strict and systematic approach make a classic of his textbook on composition “Gradus ad Parnassum“ – the steps up to Mount Parnassus, home of the Muses – which provided a basis for learning for generations of musicians right up to the 19th century and beyond. And with his vast musical experience, he created magnificent works of all genres for his Emperor, from prestigious operatic spectacles to pieces composed for the enjoyment of their Majesties in the privacy of their chambers.

Fux therefore left us a monumental oeuvre of works (which, incidentally, is to this day by no means wholly accessible). Much of this was written while Fux was struggling with poor health; he suffered badly from gout, which put him out of action for months on end.  In 1723, when Fux had written a magnificent opera for the Emperor for a celebration in Prague, the legendary “Costanza e fortezza“, which brought half of Europe to Bohemia, Karl VI had his kapellmeister transported from Vienna to Prague by sedan, because the pain caused by travelling by carriage would have been intolerable. It was a sign of the great esteem in which Fux was held, a privilege that few musicians would have experienced.

The kapellmeister also maintained ties to his home in Hirtenfeld. Having no children of his own, he brought first Maria and later Matthäus, his brother’s oldest daughter and youngest son, to Vienna and gave them an education. Following the death of this Maria Fuxin in the year of our Lord 1773 (having never married, she had acted as housekeeper to the ageing kapellmeister), the many members of the Fux family in Hirtenfeld were delighted when an unexpected and generous sum of money came their way from the capital. Every last one of them confirmed that they had received the inheritance, not with a signature, but by making a cross.

Mathis Huber

JJ Fux
Fux online
Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften
In order to make our website user-friendly and continuously improve it, we use cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Details

Johann Joseoh Fux_Warhol © Peter Schaberl
Johann Joseoh Fux

Wer war Johann Joseph Fux?

Johann Joseph Fux
Komponist dreier Habsburger-Kaiser

Im Jahr des Herrn 1660 wurde im Weiler Hirtenfeld, wenige Kilometer östlich der Landeshauptstadt Graz, dem Bauern Andreas Fux ein Hoferbe geboren und auf den Namen Johann Joseph getauft. Über seinen Geburtstag gibt es keine Aufzeichnungen, jedoch: Als ein langes Leben später, am 13. Februar 1741, in der fernen Residenzstadt Wien derselbe Johann Joseph starb, im Glanz des Kaiserhofes, als Inhaber eines der höchsten Ämter, die das musikalische Europa zu vergeben hatte: als kaiserlicher Hofkapellmeister, da gab der Totenschein sein Alter mit 81 Jahren an –  biblisch, aber für die meisten Träger des Namens Fux in Hirtenfeld normal.

Zwischen diesen beiden Polen, dem Anfang auf den Kuhweiden von Hirtenfeld, und dem Ziel in den Palästen und Hofkirchen dreier Habsburger Herrscher, liegt eine wahrhaft märchenhafte Karriere, von der viele Schritte wohl auf immer im Dunklen bleiben werden. Immerhin ahnen wir, dass die musikalische Berufung schon den Bauernbuben befallen haben muss, so wie es Fux in seinem legendären Kompositionslehrbuch „Gradus ad Parnassum“ schildert: „Schon zu der Zeit, als ich noch nicht im Vollbesitz meiner Vernunft war, wurde ich durch die Heftigkeit eines unbekannten Triebes hingerissen: All mein Sinnen und Trachten richtete sich auf die Musik, und auch jetzt noch durchglüht mich die Begierde, sie zu erlernen; wie willenlos werde ich dahin gedrängt; Tag und Nacht scheinen meine Ohren von süßen Klängen widerzuhallen, so dass ich an der Wahrheit meiner Berufung durchaus nicht zweifle.“

So muss man wohl gestimmt sein, wenn man ein Komponist werden will. Wenn man als Bauernbub an einem der vornehmsten Höfe Europas sein Glück machen will, braucht man aber wohl noch etwas mehr. Wir müssen uns vorstellen, dass der kleine Fux in der Pfarre St. Marein auf einen guten Lehrer, auf einen weitsichtigen Pfarrer getroffen ist. Und dass er Talente mitbrachte, die außergewöhnlich waren: Im Jahr 1680 treffen wir ihn als Studenten der Grazer Jesuitenuniversität an, der im Internat des Ferdinandeums einen Freiplatz erhält, gegen Kirchenmusikdienste in der Hofkirche, dem heutigen Dom. 1683 schon hält es ihn hier nicht mehr. Fux geht an die Jesuitenuniversität in Ingolstadt, um die Rechte zu studieren, und daneben übernimmt er dort die Organistenstelle an St. Moritz. Also ein klassischer Werkstudent, wie man das heute nennen würde. Irgendwann um 1688 verlässt er auch Ingolstadt, und wir verlieren ihn für Jahre aus den Augen.

Hat er in Italien studiert, im Land der Musik, war er in Frankreich? Sein virtuoser Umgang mit den Musikstilen dieser Länder würde es nahelegen. Vielleicht aber hat er alles, was er brauchte, in Wien kennengelernt, wo seit langer Zeit in Sachen Musik die Italiener den Ton angeben. Als Fux wieder aktenkundig wird, ist er jedenfalls ein gemachter Mann: Am 5. Juni 1696, im Alter von 36 Jahren, heiratet er in Wien Clara Juliana Schnitzenbaum, Tochter eines höheren Hofbeamten, eine unter normalen Umständen ganz unmögliche Partie für einen Bauernbuben aus Hirtenfeld. Er ist zu dieser Zeit Organist am Wiener Schottenstift, also seinen Kaisern schon sehr nahegekommen.

Und irgendwann in diesen Jahren hat ihn dann Kaiser Leopold I. auch entdeckt. Leopold war – wie seine Söhne Joseph und Karl auch – ein musikbesessener Herrscher, und er war selbst ein begnadeter Komponist. Der Legende nach musste er zu einer List greifen, um Fux seinem Hofstaat einzugliedern. Denn die Italiener, die Beherrscher der Hofmusik, hatten kein Interesse an der Konkurrenz eines Steirers, und so legte ihnen der Kaiser eine Messe von Fux als neuestes Werk aus Italien vor. Sie lobten die neue Musik über die Maßen, und schon waren sie in die Falle gegangen: Fux wurde im April 1698 zum Hofkomponisten Leopold I. ernannt, und ab dem Jahr 1705 war er zusätzlich Kapellmeister am Gnadenbild Maria Pötsch im Wiener Stephansdom. Im selben Jahr begann Fux eine neue Karriere: Der junge dynamische Joseph I. folgte seinem Vater Leopold I. auf den Kaiserthron und gab in großer Zahl italienische Opern in Auftrag, auch bei dem Steirer. Die erste, die sich erhalten hat, heißt „Julo Ascanio, Re d’Alba“. Als Joseph 1711 völlig überraschend starb, bestieg dessen Bruder Karl VI. den Kaiserthron. Auch er schätzte den Opernkomponisten Fux, noch viel mehr aber den Meister der Oratorien und der Kirchenmusik, am allermeisten den gütigen und umsichtigen Organisator. Unter Karl wurde der Steirer zuerst Vizekapellmeister und 1715 dann Hofkapellmeister. Höher konnte ein Musiker des 18. Jahrhunderts nicht hinaus.

Mittlerweile 55 Jahre alt geworden, konnte Fux jetzt all die Trümpfe ausspielen, die er in seinem Leben eingesammelt hatte. Sein Studium der Rechte erleichterte ihm die souveräne Führung einer großen Wiener Institution: Die Hofkapelle des Kaisers beschäftigte mitunter 140 Personen, und deren Interessen waren auch gegen manche Hofintrigen zu verteidigen. Sein geschliffenes Latein und seine strenge Systematik lassen aus seinem Kompositionslehrbuch „Gradus ad Parnassum“ – Die Stufen zum Parnass, dem Berg der Musen – einen Klassiker werden, den noch Generationen von Musikern bis ins 19. Jahrhundert und weiter als Fundament ihrer Kunst durchschreiten. Und mit seiner breiten und langen musikalischen Erfahrung lässt er für seinen Kaiser Werke in allen Gattungen erblühen, vom repräsentativen Opernspektakel bis zum stillen Vergnügen der Majestäten in der kaiserlichen Kammer.

So hat Fux ein riesiges Œuvre hinterlassen (das übrigens heute noch längst nicht wieder komplett zugänglich ist). Keinen geringen Teil dieses Werkes musste Fux seiner angegriffenen Gesundheit abtrotzen, denn eine schwere Gicht machte ihm zu schaffen und setzte ihn mitunter für Monate außer Gefecht. 1723, als er dem Kaiser eine Prachtoper für ein Fest in Prag geschrieben hatte, die legendäre „Costanza e fortezza“, zu der halb Europa nach Böhmen kam, ließ Karl VI. seinen Kapellmeister in der Sänfte von Wien nach Prag tragen, weil der eine Fahrt mit der Kutsche vor Schmerzen nicht überlebt hätte. Auch ein Zeichen der Wertschätzung, wie es nicht viele Musiker erhalten haben würden.

Die Verbindung zur Heimat in Hirtenfeld ließ auch der Hofkapellmeister nicht abreißen. Kinderlos geblieben, nahm er Maria, die älteste Tochter, und später Matthäus, den jüngsten Sohn seines Bruders, zu sich nach Wien und ließ sie ausbilden. Nach dem Tod dieser Maria Fuxin im Jahr des Herrn 1773 (sie hatte dem alten Hofkapellmeister den Haushalt geführt und war unverheiratet geblieben), erfreute sich die große Fuxische Verwandtschaft in Hirtenfeld eines reichen, unverhofften Geldsegens aus der Hauptstadt. Gezeichnet haben die Hirtenfelder Fuxe den Empfang der Erbschaft samt und sonders anstelle einer Unterschrift mit einem Kreuz.

Mathis Huber

 

Johann Joseph Fux © Johann Joseph Fux
Fux online
Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften
Um unsere Website für Sie benutzerfreundlich zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Details