styriarte Festival Edition

Summer after summer since 1985 an until the year 2015, Nikolaus Harnoncourt’s home town Graz has been transformed into a laboratory where the conductor could delve into musical masterpieces and bring them to life. The location of this laboratory: the styriarte festival, where great, unheard pieces can be fine-tuned in both a concentrated and relaxed way and where a curious audience waits to tread new paths.

Every year, Harnoncourt conducted three or four productions at styriarte, together with his favourite musicians and singers in the wonderful halls of the Styrian capital: in the classical Stefaniensaal, built in 1908, and in the functional Helmut-List-Halle from 2003, for which Harnoncourt was involved in the concept planning. Uncountable productions in this atmosphere have enchanted not only thousands during the live performances but have also made their way out into the world as radio or television broadcasts or on CD or DVD for different labels.

A very special moment in the relationship between Nikolaus Harnoncourt and the styriarte was when the conductor offered to take on the role of director, for his first and last time, in Graz for Mozart’s Idomeneo. In order to show this work to the world, we have created the “styriarte Festival Edition” based on the six performances in the Helmut- List-Halle in July 2008.

Following the release of the first edition presented under this label, we made available several more of the highlights of Harnoncourt’s work in Graz under that same label. Four editions were released over the course of the years and now, after having said our final farewell to Nikolaus Harnoncourt, the styriarte Festival Edition is complete. The material presented under this label has captured unforgettable moments of music and reminds us of an extraordinary musician and man.

The edition is available as a well-priced collection – while supplies last…

Mathis Huber

Festival Edition_Alle4
Festival Edition - collection
All 4 editions as a well-priced collection for EUR 66
styriarte Festival Edition, Smetana: Die Verkaufte Braut, DVD und 3 CDs, Nikolaus Harnoncourt
The Bartered Bride
Smetana: The Bartered Bride
3 CDs and 1 DVD
recorded at styriarte 2011 at Helmut List Halle
styriarte Festival Edition, Smetana: Má Vlast, Mein Vaterland
Má Vlast
Smetana: Má Vlast
2 DVDs
recorded at styriarte 2010 at Helmut List Halle
styriarte Festival Edition Beethoven!
Beethoven!
Beethoven: Symphonie No 5, mass in C major
2 DVDs
recorded at styriarte 2007 at Helmut List Halle
styriarte Festival Edition Idomene von W. A. Mozart
Idomeneo
Mozart: Idomeneo
2 DVDs
recorded at styriarte 2008 at Helmut List Halle

styriarte Festival Edition

Sommer für Sommer, seit dem Jahr 1985 und bis in das Jahr 2015, verwandelte sich Nikolaus Harnoncourts Heimatstadt Graz zu einem Laboratorium, in dem der Dirigent Meisterwerke der Musik erforscht und ganz neu erlebbar gemacht hat. Der Raum dafür: Das styriarte-Festival, wo ebenso konzentriert wie entspannt an unerhörten Nuancen großer Partituren gefeilt werden kann, und wo ein neugieriges Publikum darauf wartet, die neuen Wege mit zu gehen.

Es sind Jahr für Jahr drei oder vier Produktionen, die Harnoncourt bei der styriarte herausbrachte, zusammen mit seinen liebsten musikalischen Partnern und in den wunderbaren Sälen der steirischen Hauptstadt, im klassizistischen Stefaniensaal von 1908 und in der funktionellen Helmut-List-Halle von 2003, bei deren Konzeption Harnoncourt selbst Mitsprache hatte. Ungezählte Produktionen aus dieser Atmosphäre haben nicht nur im Moment ihres Erklingens tausende Zuhörer verzaubert, sie haben auch ihren Weg in die Welt gefunden, als Radio- und TV-Übertragungen ebenso wie als CD-Editionen und DVD-Produktionen für verschiedene Labels.

Ein ganz besonderer Moment in der Beziehung zwischen Nikolaus Harnoncourt und der styriarte war das Angebot des Dirigenten, seine erste und letzte und einzige Regiearbeit in Graz machen zu wollen, Mozarts „Idomeneo“. Um das Ergebnis dieser Arbeit, das in der Grazer Helmut-List-Halle im Juli 2008 in sechs Vorstellungen präsentiert wurde, auch der Welt zu zeigen, haben wir diese „styriarte Festival Edition“ ins Leben gerufen.

Jetzt, da die Edition schon einmal eingeführt war, haben wir in den folgenden Jahren weitere Höhepunkte von Harnoncourts Arbeit in Graz auf diesem Label vorgestellt. Vier Ausgaben sind so entstanden, und heute, nach dem Abschied von Nikolaus Harnoncourt, ist die Edition abgeschlossen und hält wunderbare Momente der Kunst und der Erinnerung an einen einzigartigen Musiker und Menschen bereit.

Zu erwerben auch im preisgünstigen Vierer-Package. Solange der Vorrat reicht…

styriarte Festival Edition, Smetana: Die Verkaufte Braut, DVD und 3 CDs, Nikolaus Harnoncourt
Die verkaufte Braut
Smetana: Die verkaufte Braut
3 CDs und 1 DVD
aufgenommen bei der styriarte 2011 in der Helmut List Halle
zum Preis von EUR 29
styriarte Festival Edition, Smetana: Má Vlast, Mein Vaterland
Má Vlast
Smetana: Má Vlast / Mein Vaterland
2 DVDs
aufgenommen bei der styriarte 2010 in der Helmut List Halle
zum Preis von EUR 19
styriarte Festival Edition Beethoven!
Beethoven!
Beethoven: Symphonie Nr. 5, Messe in C
2 DVDs
aufgenommen bei der styriarte 2007 in der Helmut List Halle
zum Preis von EUR 19
styriarte Festival Edition Idomene von W. A. Mozart
Idomeneo
Mozart: Idomeneo
2 DVDs
aufgenommen bei der styriarte 2008 in der Helmut List Halle
zum Preis von EUR 19
Festival Edition_Alle4
Festival Edition - ALLE4
Alle vier Editionen zum Sonderpreis von EUR 66.