Sujet styriarte 2021 - Lust © Sujet styriarte 2021 - Lust

styriarte 2021

June 25 to July 25

Desire

Love, lust and suffering are closely entwined in the story of the beautiful Psyche and her lover Amor (Cupid). The story that the ancient poet Apuleius thought up in north Africa in 150 A.D. was transformed by Johann Joseph Fux into his most sensual opera in the year 1720 in Vienna. Alfredo Bernardini conducts Psiche as the opening performance of the styriarte Festival 2021 setting the scene for what is to come: desire in all its forms will be the theme of the festival.

The readings are one tale after another: Amor (Cupid) and Psyche, Beauty and the Beast, The Thousand and One Nights, Boccaccio’s Decamerone. It is always about how easily human beings are deceived by fleshly lust and lusting after what they see. The charlatan in Pergolesi’s Ciarlatano, the other baroque opera in this year’s festival, is also deceived. Adrian Schvarzstein directs both operas and contributes to a third event with his ideas for the stage: the debut of the styriarte Festspiel-Orchester.YOUTH conducted by Andrés Orozco-Estrada.

With such a sensual theme, the young naturally have a central role to play: a young soprano from Venezuela scales the headiest soprano heights; young singers relish the medieval times of Orff’s Carmina Burana; young cellists and young performers of chamber music tempt us to classical music and ask in their apparently naïve way “Feel like a little Mozart? How about Schubert? Fancy some Brahms?” Everything about this festival is young and sparkling.

Then there is Jordi Savall, standing out, solid as a rock: with ballet music he revels in the sensuality of the era of “galanterie”. In Stainz he merges three magnificent choral works into a baroque Marian vesper. styriarte 2021 lives up to its reputation as a leading festival of early music.

But the festival’s excursions into the recent past show what forms our eternal search for satisfaction and pleasure took in the 20th century, going back to the Summer of Love in San Francisco, the salsa boom in 60s New York, Piazzolla’s tango and the golden age of pop hits. In their dreams of desire, humans always live out the longings of their psyche – which brings us back to where we started: to an (un)happy princess called Psyche.

In order to make our website user-friendly and continuously improve it, we use cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Details

Sujet styriarte 2021 - Lust © Sujet styriarte 2021 - Lust

styriarte 2021

25. Juni bis 25. Juli

Lust

Liebe, Lust und Leid liegen nahe beieinander in der Geschichte von der schönen Psyche und ihrem Geliebten Amor. Was der antike Dichter Apuleius um 150 n. Chr. im Norden Afrikas ersann, verwandelte Johann Joseph Fux anno 1720 zu Wien in seine sinnlichste Opernpartitur. Alfredo Bernardini dirigiert die „Psiche“ als Eröffnungsoper der styriarte 2021 und gibt dem Festival damit die Richtung vor: Die Lust in allen Spielarten wird zum Motto der Festspiele.

In den Lesungen folgt Märchen auf Märchen: Amor und Psyche, die Schöne und das Biest, die Märchen aus 1001 Nacht, der Decamerone von Boccaccio. Immer geht es darum, wie leicht sich der Mensch von der Augenlust und der fleischlichen Begierde täuschen lässt. Getäuscht wird auch der Scharlatan in Pergolesis „Ciarlatano“, der zweiten Barockoper des Festivals. Adrian Schvarzstein führt Regie wie in der „Psiche“, und er leiht noch einem dritten Ereignis seine szenischen Einfälle: dem Debüt des styriarte Festspiel-Orchester.YOUTH unter Andrés Orozco-Estrada.

Die Jugend spielt bei einem so sinnlichen Thema überhaupt eine große Rolle: Ein junger Sopranist aus Venezuela erklimmt die höchsten Sopranhöhen. Junge Sänger*innen schwelgen im prallen Mittelalter von Orffs „Carmina Burana“. Junge Cellist*innen und junge Kammermusiker*innen machen Lust auf Klassik und fragen scheinbar naiv: „Lust auf Mozart? Lust auf Schubert? Lust auf Brahms?“ Alles ist jung und prickelnd in diesem Festival.

Da ragt Altmeister Jordi Savall wie ein Fels aus der Brandung: In Ballettmusiken frönt er der Sinnlichkeit des galanten Zeitalters. In Stainz fügt er drei grandiose Chorwerke zu einer barocken Marienvesper zusammen. Ihrem Ruf als führendes Festival der Alten Musik bleibt die styriarte also auch 2021 treu.

Welche Spielarten die ewige Suche des Menschen nach lustvoller Befriedigung im 20. Jahrhundert annahm, zeigen die Ausflüge des Festivals in die jüngere Vergangenheit: zum Summer of Love in San Francisco und zur Salsa Explosion im New York der Sechziger, zum Tango alla Piazzolla und in die goldene Zeit des Schlagers. Immer leben die Menschen im Traum von der Lust die Sehnsüchte ihrer Psyche aus – womit wir wieder beim Ausgangspunkt wären: bei einer (un)glücklichen Königstochter namens Psyche.

Um unsere Website für Sie benutzerfreundlich zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden. Details